Warning: Use of undefined constant gallery - assumed 'gallery' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /nfs/c01/h01/mnt/10578/domains/felixlab.com/html/wp-content/themes/imbalance/js/photo-galleria/photo-galleria.php on line 195
felix. » Green Square Library and Plaza – Stage 2 Competition

Green Square Library and Plaza – Stage 2 Competition


The Green Square Library and Plaza designed by felix presents a building and landscape that engenders a contemporary Public space for the Community.  Understanding the demands of a contemporary Public Library, the Plaza has been designed as an essential part of the Library’s function. The Public engage with the building at the Plaza level through the monumental atrium space; making reference to the grand reading rooms of the Library of New South Wales.  With the proliferation of printed books, the reading room, once the centre of the library’s function, is revisited in this library as an experience through the multi-functional community orientated space. The atrium space is treated as a continuation of the public realm, connecting the landscaped plaza with the clean lines of the internal subtraction of volume from within the building. The Green Square Library and Plaza is a truly new public arena which will act as the hub of the vibrant community.

The landscape is a dynamic element bringing the plaza to life, via the involvement of people in the spaces created, resulting in a holistic living breathing organism.  People are the making of the plaza and the spaces created provide the opportunity for visitors to interact with the learning opportunities of a library. The design creates a diversity of flexible spaces containing elements that encourage learning and stimulate interaction.



Status: Competition – Final 5 short-listing

Project Type: Library and Public Plaza

Client: City of Sydney Council



Team: felix. with Allen Jack & Cottier Architects

Landscape Architect – Pullyblank

Rene Van Meeuwen, Romesh Goonewardene, Matt Delroy-Carr, Ferdy Antoro, Craig McCormack, Celine Helliar, Stuart Pullyblank, Adelle Main, Mitch Hart, Thomas Hobbs,